Sketching Days I Miss…

I think the last i held my fave Artline pen sketching away, was a year ago. Since being in my current job, producing modern and practical interior designs are not required of me, it’s mostly technical drawings -using Autocad software- and actively running the site supervising.

Yes, i missed those sketching days… It made me wonder if i’ve forgotten how to. You see, a year of sketch-less days (for me) tends to cause trendy ideas to go rusty!
As a designer, one has to constantly practice his/her sketches, read and absorb updated interior books/ magazines, who’s and what’s popular in the Interior Design world, attend exhibitions to further increase his/her knowledge and more.

Well you’ve guessed it. I havent been doing the above for nearly 2 years! So, the mouldy designer – me – began her practicing by sketching up some bathroom designs yesterday.

     

Oh dear, rusty indeed!

FYI, i rarely do residential designs, in my 8 years as an Interior Designer, i’ve always been exposed to commercial/retails/offices projects and i’m still liking it so far. I (IMO) find commercial spaces far more interesting to play around with.

The ONE time i will focus working on a residential project is designing my own home, someday. The joy of picking out fabrics, colours, themes… In my own sweet time…

BUT.

It will cost me ALOT of monies to build this dream!
Hmm… mayhaps this will be one of my many retirement plans.

Comments are closed.

